“Uncle” Sam…I am.

2 Sep
Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’ve done voices for animated projects before, but have never been featured to this degree.  Thanks to animator/creator/voice talent Josh Faure-Brac for fitting me out in Red, White, and Blue as his “Uncle Sam” in this segment of his “SuperNews” for CurrentTV!  It’s also my first booking through voices.com…so double the celebration at the ol’ home studio.  Pray for sequels!  (CurrentTV LLC copyright 2008 – Used with permission.)

— over and out —

14 Responses to ““Uncle” Sam…I am.”

  1. SamA September 2, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    Nice work Rowell. Congrats on the booking through voices.com. A hard nut to crack for some of us who have been doing this for too long.
    Many happy bookings to follow.
    SamA

  2. SamA September 2, 2008 at 10:04 pm #

    Nice work Rowell. Many more bookings to follow I hope.

    I have a job on Current as well.

    http://current.com/people/mrkgreene

    Check it out if you get the chance.

    Be well,
    SamA

  3. Bob Souer September 2, 2008 at 10:13 pm #

    Rowell,

    Great work! Good for you.

    Be well,
    Bob

  4. MaryMcK. September 3, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    Rowell, what a great project! Superb acting and voice-over, and a wonderful script – it brought tears to my eyes and made me laugh out loud too! Congratulations to you and the whole team.

    MCM

  5. Robert Jadah September 3, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    Rowell,
    Delightfully done, Imaginator. Letter-perfect Unka Sam.
    Kudoes!
    -Robert

  6. Brian Hart September 3, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    Funny and cool. Great work Rowell.

  7. Bobbin Beam September 3, 2008 at 2:59 pm #

    How Cool, Rowell! Excellent work, and congratulations on a job well-done.
    All The Best,
    Bobbin Beam- Voice Actress

  8. Peter O'Connell September 3, 2008 at 4:55 pm #

    RG

    Nice work!

    Best always,
    – Peter

  9. Dave Christi September 3, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    I like it, I like it!!!

    Nicely done! Too bad about Belgium though.

  10. James Lorenz September 5, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    Great job Rowell!
    Did they match your voice, or did you have the video beforehand?
    James

  11. Rowell September 5, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    james

    there was a scratch-track with josh providing both voices for reference and general pacing, but they cast me first…got the lines from me with a few alternates…and then did the timing and animation. i don’t think i even saw a sketch before i auditioned, though i’m sure they had the character design figured out already.

    thanks to all for the kind words and encouragement.

    i’ve already written josh, asking if he is psychic…after the republicans shoved that “tribute” to 9/11, complete with falling bodies, into their big celebration at the convention. i don’t think any party is perfect, but that just seemed to re-enforce the “fear-mongering” label they’ve been slapped with before. how weird to have been part of a project weeks before which commented on that very thing (Sam: “…because I don’t think straight when I’m scared!”).

  12. Arlene Kahn October 5, 2008 at 8:02 pm #

    What a great piece! The whole thing kept me engaged and amused. Great work to all involved.

    Arlene Kahn

  13. Donna Reed October 9, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    Rowell:
    You are awesome. As always!
    Donna

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dave Christi’s Voice Daily » I DO like that Sam-I-Am - September 3, 2008

    […] Rowell Gorman posted a recent project of his on his blog.  I post about it here because I like his performance as Uncle Sam AND I like the message behind the project. […]

Leave a Reply

